Radio Olisipo On air -
close

23.11.2023

Prazeres Interrompidos #211: Nothing Special – Nicole Flattery (2023)

Radio Olisipo · Prazeres Interrompidos #211: Nothing Special - Nicole Flattery (2023)

Prazeres Interrompidos #211: Nothing Special – Nicole Flattery (2023)

Autor:
Octávio Nuno

Podcast sobre livros. Um livro num minuto! Em todas as tuas redes sociais, plataformas de podcasts, mas também nas rádios e jornais. Boas leituras!

New York City, 1966. Seventeen-year-old Mae lives in a rundown apartment with her alcoholic mother and her mother’s sometimes-boyfriend, Mikey. She is turned off by the petty girls at her high school and the sleazy men she typically meets. When she drops out, she is presented with a job offer that will remake her world: She is hired as a typist for the artist Andy Warhol.

Warhol is composing an unconventional novel by recording the conversations and experiences of his many famous and alluring friends. Tasked with transcribing these tapes alongside several other girls, Mae quickly befriends Shelley, and the two of them embark on a surreal adventure at the fringes of the counter-cultural movement. Going to parties together, exploring their womanhood and sexuality, this should be the most enlivening experience of Mae’s life. But as she grows increasingly obsessed with the tapes and numb to her own reality, Mae must grapple with the thin line between art and voyeurism and determine how she can remain her own person as the tide of the sixties sweeps over her.

For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Mary Gaitskill, this blistering, mordantly funny debut novel brilliantly interrogates the nature of friendship and independence and the construction of art and identity. Nothing Special is a whip-smart coming-of-age story that brings to life the experience of young girls in this iconic and turbulent American moment.

Comentários

Deixe seu Comentário